Visokio website     Downloads     Video tutorials     KnowledgeBase  
Scheduler: command line Omniscope? - Visokio Forums
Scheduler: command line Omniscope?
  • ncoders May 2, 2014 7:46AM
    Hi, I am new to Omniscope and I just wondered if someone could point me to a tutorial on what I want to to.

I can create a report manually, but now I want to automate the process with scripting. Any ideas on where to start?

Many thanks
  • 5 Comments
  •     tjbate May 2, 2014 8:34AM
    Mark- If you have Desktop Edition, you will not see Server Edition tools like the Scheduler. Scheduler is a separate Java process bundled only in Server Editions that permit you to define both chronological and event-driven automation.

See, for example, this discussion:
    http://forums.visokio.com/discussion/1982/scheduler-running-from-a-3rd-party-applications

Alternatively, click on the 'Scheduler' tag at right and see all discussions tagged 'Scheduler'
  • ncoders May 2, 2014 11:36AM
    Hi,
    So what I am really after is a solution that does not involve the Server Edition. I am proficient in scripting and I am looking for a way of automating without the cost of the server edition.
  •     tjbate May 2, 2014 11:53AM
    What tasks/process were you trying to automate? What is your OS & scripting language?

IOK files can be configured to be self-refreshing, and self-publishing. If you configure the Source and Output blocks in your IOK files like this, then each time the IOK file is opened, the IOK file will refresh from all Sources, update all Views and generate all the Outputs defined inside the IOK file.

Although Desktop Editions have only a limited Batch Publishing Output feature that allows you to fully personalise the content and distribution modes for only a few recipients, you can at least test this feature using a Desktop Edition.