Visokio website     Downloads     Video tutorials     KnowledgeBase  
Import: Load only first 1000 records? - Visokio Forums
Import: Load only first 1000 records?
  • cristian December 19, 2014 8:23AM
    Hi All!
    I'm new to Omniscope. Is there a way to load only the first 1000 top rows of a file? When developing/testing and I don't want to work with the complete file. At the moment, I'm working with a .csv file that contains 1,4M rows just for one month and it takes forever to load this.

Cristian
  • 6 Comments
  •        daniel December 19, 2014 8:29AM
    Probably best to load that amount of data into a database and use one of the database query connector to load snippets of data. You can do this with any SQL databases, R will also have that functionality if you install the right R library for parsing data with.

Also if it's just for testing, why not just manually extract a 1000 of your data and use that?
  •     paola December 19, 2014 8:31AM
    Sure, just use a Random Sample block (in the DataManager Operations menu) and set the sample size to 1,000 to pick random records.

If you wish to see the first 1000 records - you can use the Record filter operation and set Record number less than 1001. You could also try to sort the records by value in a field X, by using the Sort block, and then apply the same record filtering step as above.
  • cristian December 19, 2014 8:36AM
    OK. At the moment I'm using .csv files and I could of course just manually extract 1000 rows of data. Thought there might be another way of doing this, i.e. in the data file block.

If I use the random sample block I would have to load 1,4M rows first and then throw away data - same problem that I have now paola - I use the filter block to "throw away" the data but still I load 1,4M rows.

Any way thank you for your fast response!
    Br
    Cristian
  •     chris December 19, 2014 8:41AM
    In block configuration select the data rows you want to use, see attached screenshot.