Visokio website     Downloads     Video tutorials     KnowledgeBase  
Database connections: filtering pass through - Visokio Forums
Database connections: filtering pass through
  • JorgenP January 25, 2012 5:42AM
    Hi Guys - I am fairly new to Omniscope, and need your help. I have some queries in Access that I would like to pass through to Omniscope. However, I would like to decide how much of the data from the Access queries that is been imported.

In my case, I have 6 queries in Access, which are all linked up with the respondents ID, in order always to know what the individual has answered. My data covers the entire 2011 - but if I only want to drag out certain weeks in 2011, and pass them through to DataManager, is it then possible to have a filter in Omniscope which decides the weeks that are been passed through. At the moment, I am getting the entire dataset from 2011, which makes the system too slow on my machine.
  • 8 Comments
  • Soruban January 25, 2012 7:47AM
    Hi,

In case you are not already, I suggest you use DataManager to set up your workflow.
    You should use the "Database table" source block to link to your Access Database, then you can use a "Record Filter" to specify the week range you want to have passed into Omniscope.

If you want more information on DataManager, you might find the video tutorials useful.
    They can be accessed at http://www.visokio.com/video-tutorials.

Regards.
  •     steve January 25, 2012 8:08AM
    Better still, in "Database table", use the "Filters" tab to specify server-side filtering (i.e. SELECT / WHERE constraints). Whereas Record Filter works client-side after downloading the full data, these work server-side, and avoid the client memory and bandwidth overhead of downloading excluded rows.
  •     tjbate January 25, 2012 8:51AM